Sign in to follow this  
glacialerratic

Rockport Quarry

glacialerratic

One of my favorite spots is an old limestone quarry on Rockport Rd., north of Alpena, off 23N, turn right on Rockport Rd., (gravel) parking at the end.

Tons of coral -- lots of rugosa, hex, favosites, and some others. Found a nice slab with a crinoid calyx. A few trilobite frags, brachys, ect. Looks like a high-energy deposition environment.

Some of the coral heads are huge.

fig rocks

Sounds like fun, you'll have to post some pics. :)

glacialerratic

Placoderms?

I had no idea. Thanks for the tip!

Placoderms

Yea, most of the bone I found was towards the ?back? of the quarry (I guess it would be West?). I am no expert, only been there 3 times.

Once you catch the color you can't miss it:

rockport.jpg

glacialerratic

That's a great find!

I don't recall seeing anything like that, but I do know where you are referring to in the quarry -- that's usually where I head.

Going to have to start looking for blue next time I'm over there.

art

Is it still open?

May have to go when winter breaks....

glacialerratic

Yes, it's on state land.

fossils by great lakes

How common are placoderm fossils there? I have never been to Rockport quarry but I do have fossils from the Belle Shale (near Alpena), they are the usual brachiopods, bryozoa, crinoid bits, and corals. Also, how common are trilobites at Rockport? Thanks

glacialerratic

The placoderm fossils are in the southern half of the quarry -- look for blue specks on the rock.

There aren't any trilos in the Rockport Quarry limestone. I think the Genshaw formation is in the southern half, which has a few trilos. I've only found pygidiums.

It is a great quarry for corals.

fossils by great lakes