My Eastern USA (mostly New Jersey) finds

frankh8147

Hello all!

I recently rearranged my collection so I figured this would be a good time to show some fossils!

I usually hang-out in the New Jersey Cretaceous but I have been collecting fossils for over 25 years and have found some pretty cool specimens of creatures from many different eras, That said, my collection is mainly focused on the New Jersey Cretaceous, so let's start there.

These are my displays for New Jersey Cretaceous non-reptile fossils. My favorites aren't actually fossils at all but rather casts of some of my favorite finds. The crab, Costadromia Hajzeri is the earlies known sponge crab and was named after me. The lungfish cast is of one of two specimens of late Cretaceous lungfish found from New Jersey (probable new species based on time period and 'crushing' element of teeth. The big Xiphactinus tooth is another of my favorite finds along with the echinoids and Menunites ammonite (pictured).

best1.jpg

bestcasts.jpg

bestcollcloseup.jpg

bestechinoids.jpg

bestmenunites.jpg

cretshellcase.jpg

cretshellcase2.jpg

pyritegastropod.jpg

• I found this Informative 17
  • Enjoyed 4

Next is my Mosasaur collection. The jaw is a 'Frankenjaw' which was put together from three pieces I found in the same area (picture below) but was told they probably aren't from the same animal. The big bone in the back was identified as fused bones of a partial Mosasaur brain case. The specimens in the back left are tooth sockets; back right are verts.

mosjaw.jpg

mosjawsections.jpg

mosoverview.jpg

mossssss1.jpg

• I found this Informative 12
  • Enjoyed 2

Next is my shark teeth. The Cretaceous are from mainly from Big Brook and Raminessin; the Miocene are mostly from Brownies Beach, Maryland.

shark.jpg

• I found this Informative 10
  • Enjoyed 2

Here are my other reptile fossils. The rib bone was identified as being dinosaur (probably Hadrosaur). I think my favorite here though is the best Plesiosaur vert.