Cosmopolitodus Hastalis Or Mako ?

worthy 55

What type of shark tooth is this ? It looks like a Cosmopolitodus Hastalis to me, but I am new to collecting shark teeth. If it's a Mako tooth what kind is it?

post-23-1205024372_thumb.jpg

post-23-1205024450_thumb.jpg

post-23-1205024470_thumb.jpg

post-23-1205024503_thumb.jpg

post-23-1205024561_thumb.jpg

post-23-1205024623.gif

It's my bone!!!

It's a Mako. Most would call it the narrow form of Isurus hastalis, but Cosmopolitodus may be correct in the future (it looks as though there is a debate still raging according to elasmo.com)

There's no limit to what you can accomplish when you're supposed to be doing something else

The reason I am asking is because of the way the tooth curves outward. I looked in elasmo to come to this conclusion. Thanks

post-23-1205027619_thumb.jpg

It's my bone!!!

The curve is a pathology

There's no limit to what you can accomplish when you're supposed to be doing something else

I personally don't buy the possibility of there being a 'narrow' and 'broad' form mako. In California, I've always seen both morphs co-occur together wherever they're found, and there is a middle ground in those samples. They are probably the exact same species, and it is probably just interspecific variation.

Also, I should note that Purdy et al. 2001 make extensive usage of the broad/narrow tooth forms to try and refute the Isurus/Cosmopolitodus-Carcharodon link.

Either way, If I had to pigeon hole it, that looks pretty broad to me. But they're all Isurus/Cosmopolitodus hastalis. Isurus xiphodon is a joke, and was only resurrected by Purdy et al. 2001 to 'disprove' any Isurus-Carcharodon link.

So basically by definition, extant Carcharodon is basically just an overgrown mako.

Bobby

• I found this Informative 2