Gators40

Seminole County fossil hunting

Gators40

I’m new to fossil hunting, any suggestions on areas around Seminole County Fl, any advice would be appreciated .

Shellseeker

Welcome to TFF.  If you are interested in fossils, LOTS of kindred spirits here. When I started in fossil hunting, I wanted to tap into the experience, knowledge , and locations of some of the savviest hunters in my area!!! So, I joined my local fossil club.  You can do the same:

https://floridafossilhunters.com/field-trip/

Look at those field trips!!! They even bring you to MY favorite hunting grounds  :wub: The Peace River!! It take me a little over 2 hours 15 minutes to reach my favorite hunting spots.

I am still working to get into the 3 inch Mako club.

This one from last September came close. It only took me 10 years , but I am still looking.

Mako_hc.JPG.a67ff3745b99b20f04628bbfe12e7aad.JPG

As an aside, you could extend your knowledge of Florida Fossils, Make sure you are on the TFF home page, go to that search button in upper right, and search for anything like "Florida Mako".   Enjoy

PODIGGER

Welcome to the forum.  Unfortunately, I too am from south of you in Florida and my favorite hunting spots are on the Peace River.  I would encourage you to follow Shellseeker's advice and join the local/closest fossil club to learn about your options for fossils sites nearby.

Sacha

I'm a member of the Tampa Bay fossil club and this coming Wednesday I am going on a field trip to the CEMEX quarry in Center Hill, FL. These opportunities only come from club memberships so make sure you join the Orlando club and the Tampa club. Go on a guided trip with Fred Mazza to the Peace when the water goes down and you will learn everything you need to head off on your own.

Shellseeker
2 hours ago, Sacha said: