Gotta start somewhere

Wxman

Hi. Total newbie here. But interested in what I see as I have been lurking this site for 5 years or so.  I have acquired some basic prep tools and want to practice a bit of matrix removal to develop a feel for the rock and tools before I start anything important (to me at least). I picked up a few rocks yesterday from the Nanaimo Formations, upper Cretaceous, Campanian the map says. It would be handy to know what I am looking at so I could Google some images and know what to look for as I uncover things. If anyone would care to identify a few things, I would be grateful. 

Galliano1.jpg

Gabriola2.jpg

Wow, I cant even begin to guess at what you have there. I hope some can ID it, because frankly it looks freakin cool.  I'd start with you 8315 scribe.  Start VERY light, just barely touching the matrix.  Let the tool do the work.  Don't apply too much pressure and move slowly.  If you dont have a microscope, I would suggest at least a good lighted magnifier.  

good luck, I hope its something great.

• I found this Informative 1

"There is no shortage of fossils. There is only a shortage of paleontologists to study them." - Larry Martin

@hadrosauridae Thanks. I'm leaning towards plant, but I'm not sure. 

I do have a stereo scope, and have been scratching away with picks as I want to learn how rock feels. I should have a compressor setup, and try my new scribes within a week or so. Thanks for the tips. :look:

Ok. One more. This one broke up when harvested. All specimens from the same formation. 

Thanks, in advance, for any assistance. 

Gabe4.jpg

Gabe4a.jpg

Well, i don't see any feature recognizable, at least, for me except, maybe burrows or ichnofossils.

Maybe @GeschWhat or @Carl could help.

Cheers,

Sophie.

theme-celtique.png.bbc4d5765974b5daba0607d157eecfed.png.7c09081f292875c94595c562a862958c.png

"On ne voit bien que par le coeur, l'essentiel est invisible pour les yeux." (Antoine de Saint-Exupéry)