Worm Or Serpent Like

Steve Jr

I'm new to fossils, and I can't find anything quite like this one.

DSC_4809.jpg

"The question is not whether we will die, but how we will live." -Joan Borysenko

I agree with Ophiura. An "ichnofossil", or trace of an animal's activity. It could have been a burrow in the mud (now revealed by erosion of the rock), or a trackway on the mud, here revealed when the rock split along a bedding plane.

I'm having to assume it's size as 3/8-3/4" wide...something in the pic for scale can be very helpful.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

I've seen burrows, it's no burrow.

Any thoughts on you think it is?

"The question is not whether we will die, but how we will live." -Joan Borysenko

Guest Smilodon

I agree with Ophiura. An "ichnofossil", or trace of an animal's activity. It could have been a burrow in the mud (now revealed by erosion of the rock), or a trackway on the mud, here revealed when the rock split along a bedding plane.

I'm having to assume it's size as 3/8-3/4" wide...something in the pic for scale can be very helpful.

I have one just like it (well a little better defined.) It comes from a site with prodigious amounts of Pennsylvanian reptile/lizard tracks from Oklahoma. I'm looking for my photos.

Guest Smilodon

Any thoughts on you think it is?

I've always assumed some sort of worm trail, but I've never found anyone that could or would make an educated guess.

I've always assumed some sort of worm trail, but I've never found anyone that could or would make an educated guess.

Well I was thinking and looking, it may be a long shot but I thought it might be a Trilobite trail. But again I have no experience to any of this I'm new to all this.

Guest Smilodon