Is the Chicxulub impact still the favored explaination for the extinction?

aplomado

I read "The Story of the Dinosaurs in 25 Discoveries" by Donald R. Prothero.  The author states that paleontologists now mostly do not think that the Chicxulub metor impact killed off the non-avian dinosaurs, and that other explainations are preferred.  He did not really explain this statement.

That certainly was news to me!  I am no professional though.

What's the truth?

• I found this Informative 1

13 minutes ago, aplomado said:

What's the truth?

There is no such thing like truth in science, there is only observation and theory. But have a look at this topic:

Franz Bernhard

• I found this Informative 3

1 hour ago, aplomado said:

I read "The Story of the Dinosaurs in 25 Discoveries" by Donald R. Prothero.  The author states that paleontologists now mostly do not think that the Chicxulub metor impact killed off the non-avian dinosaurs, and that other explainations are preferred.  He did not really explain this statement.

That certainly was news to me!  I am no professional though.

What's the truth?

Part of it has to do with the time of the impact.   An interval of major volcanic eruptions in the area of India was happening across that time as well as a drop in sea level.  It's unclear how both of those affected the dinosaurs either by themselves or together simultaneously.  Certainly, the drop in seal level affected their environment.  The climate would have changed as the sea retreated.  It would have been cooler and drier.  It's unclear what the dinosaur populations worldwide were at the time because dinosaur-bearing rocks from the very end of the Cretaceous are known only from a rather small area of North America, but based on fossils they do have, it appears that dinosaurs were in decline before the impact.