BudB

NSR, April 3rd

BudB
Posted (edited)

I made a trip to the NSR today and had a blast. Let me say up front that I am a rank beginner, and this was my first real fossil hunting trip, unless you count a visit to Mineral Wells Fossil Park with a bucket a few weeks ago. It was a dark day, but I was afraid if I waited, the next round of rain would have the river too high. I found some cool stuff. I'll be starting a thread in the ID forum for help identifying things. I'd especially like to know about the femur and tooth I found, so if any NSR experts can help out, I'd appreciate it. Some random thoughts on today's trip:

1. NSR is one of the coolest places I've ever been. I get why it's so liked and popular. I'm going to visit it as many times as I can this year before it's a lake.

2. Those steps were made for someone who's 6'6". Lets see a show of hands of who can traverse them making steps like regular steps. I could to it, but I had to shift my (full) pants pocket to one side to make such a giant step. And they end before the river bottom. Getting up that muddy bank on a rainy day to get to the first step is no small task.

3. I would have liked to hike much further up the river than I did, but with more rain expected, it seemed prudent to not wander more than a mile from the bridge. I was happy I was still able to find cool stuff, even without a long hike.

4. It got cold! My forecast in Gun Barrel City didn't call for anything lower than 60 degrees today, and it was 60 something when I arrived, but I noticed it kept getting colder, and by the time I got back to my van at 12:45, it was 44 degrees. That's too cold for wading a river!

5. I brought home more insignificant stuff than I should have. Is that a beginner thing?