flemgunner

Areas around San Antonio/Uvalde or to tag along on hunting trips

flemgunner

Hey yall, Im currently living on a ranch near Uvalde TX and I was wondering if anyone has any experience with this area. Looking to go out on trips with like minded folks to see what can be found in the surrounding are. To sweeten the deal the first trip would be to the ranch Im on were we have a pretty nice Acro trackway! 

Uncle Siphuncle

Do you know what formation you are in?  I’ve hunted out that way a bit from time to time, and in between.  Private access is often the best bet out that way as most of the land is tied up in private ranches.

flemgunner

I dont unfortunately, the ranch Im on is 18000 acres so there is a ton of area. It the Ox ranch for reference. I have found some fossils in one location but beyond that Im not sure what Im looking for geology wise  

Mike C

I'm new to all this and just joined.  Not sure if I'd be that helpful, but I'd sure like to go.

Uncle Siphuncle
On 4/22/2020 at 2:36 PM, flemgunner said:

I dont unfortunately, the ranch Im on is 18000 acres so there is a ton of area. It the Ox ranch for reference. I have found some fossils in one location but beyond that Im not sure what Im looking for geology wise  

Ah yes, the Ox Ranch.  I took my son there 3 years ago to shoot machine guns for his 15th birthday.  We enjoyed most ripping open a minivan with the mounted .50 BMG.

I took a look at the geomap to place the ranch in a geological context.  The lower elevations are Glen Rose formation, the ascending the hills from oldest to youngest, you might bump into West Nueces, McNight and Salmon Peak formations.  I personally would concentrate on the hills to hit the McNight and Salmon Peak in hope of finding ammonites in the Oxytropidoceras through Mortoniceras progression (a Google search of "Dr. Burt Beds" might shed some add'l insight into your local ammonite zones) and possibly echinoids.