Cataloguing Suggestions?

hemipristis

hello all,

I've procrastinated for years, and am finally serious about cataloguing my collection (fossils, minerals, artifacts).  Can anyone recommend a cataloging software, for MAC?

'Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.'

George Santayana

I just use Numbers (the Mac Excel equivalent). It’s easy to use, portable, and I am less worried about future software stability issues.

• I found this Informative 1

I've been using Trilobase for a few years now and like it.  I don't know if it is Mac accessible.  It has a couple of quirks, but it is easy to use.  Good luck.  I waited toooo long to start cataloguing, so it was alot of work.

14 hours ago, connorp said:

I just use Numbers (the Mac Excel equivalent). It’s easy to use, portable, and I am less worried about future software stability issues.

Not a bad idea.  Would you mind sharing your template?

George Santayana

16 hours ago, JimB88 said:

Hmm, Im not sure if Trilobase has a Mac version; but I would check it out just in case.

7 hours ago, crabfossilsteve said:

I've been using Trilobase for a few years now and like it.  I don't know if it is Mac accessible.  It has a couple of quirks, but it is easy to use.  Good luck.  I waited toooo long to start cataloguing, so it was alot of work.

Thanks!  I checked and unfortunately, it's only available for Windows

George Santayana

I live and work in a Mac environment and had been using Filemaker for my catalog. I had it for a museum project. Now it will not run on the newer iOS and it is stupidly expensive. But I like the interface I created so I have an old iMac that pretty much is dedicated to this alone. The good news is I can easily (and often) export to a comma separated Excell file as back up.

• I found this Informative 2

I use File Mkaer at wrk, but have been using Trilobse at home lately.  FileMaker is great but expensive.  Trilobase is good... and free.  

2 minutes ago, jpc said: