Identification Help: Fern Glen Crinoid Calyx

Thomas.Dodson

Hi all,

I collected this lovely crinoid calyx stuck in a Favosites sp. from the Fern Glen Formation in Imperial, Missouri (Mississippian, Osagean Series). My guess is Platycrinus stellatus (based on Weller, Stuart, Kinderhook faunal studies; V, The fauna of the Fern Glen Formation. Geol. Soc. Am., Bull., vol. 20, 265-:332, (1909)) but I would prefer some more opinions since I'm new to paleozoic strata. On that note I would also welcome learning references on crinoids, especially regarding the Mississippian and Pennsylvanian.

Thanks for any help or information.

-Tom

IMG_6223.thumb.JPG.68607287187a4d20b118bcf47dfa0079.JPGIMG_6227.thumb.JPG.f6e36e21ec44ab5644d84d38f848f97f.JPGIMG_6225.thumb.JPG.89505f64fd3b5a4f15224c7ae070788f.JPGIMG_6224.thumb.JPG.8153cacad224e13db47ecb1efa50d5ce.JPG

• I found this Informative 1

Probably I'm wrong, but almost looks like a crinoid anchoring sistem. :headscratch:

• I found this Informative 2

" We are not separate and independent entities, but like links in a chain, and we could not by any means be what we are without those who went before us and showed us the way. "

Thomas Mann

My Library

I agree this is a lovely crinoid anchor, however it is an interesting coral(?) matrix I’m not qualified to ID

• I found this Informative 2

A holdfast does seem more likely as I look at more specimens. I'm still getting used to crinoids and the variation. Thanks for the help.

The coral appears to be a Favosites sp. It's nice how tightly it is wrapped around the crinoid. I still have some more work to do blasting the coralites with my micro abrader but it looks nice.

I agree its a holdfast but its awesome. That looks like a material that could be cleaned in acid , you may want to try  a   not worth saving specimen, it could save time` and preserve more detail. Just be real carefull.   The coral in my member photo was complexly covered in matrix. Packy

Hey Packy,