BoneValleyTooth

Shellseeker

I am on an amazing win streak. :yay-smiley-1:

Last Friday,  I found a very unusual Barnacle fossilized in Silica. Next time out , today!!!!

I have been hunting Bone Valley for 13 years and I have never found or seen this tooth.  I do not know what it is..... and I broke it digging it out.  The root was already broken some many MYAs,  but it still does not feel good breaking a once in a lifetime find.  My good fortune continued because the broken segment was also in the sieve..

My only thought is that it might be marine mammal.  Asking @Boesse and @Harry Pristis to take a look...

IMG_6926txt.thumb.jpg.4cbda86368fb9c73afc0f4aa33044f4f.jpgIMG_6928Ecrop.thumb.jpg.6ae0544d217e8ac255647802a35968e2.jpg

• I found this Informative 2
  • Enjoyed 1

The White Queen  ".... in her youth she could believe "six impossible things before breakfast"

Could be sperm whale, but the texture on the end is strange for a cetacean and reminds me of unworn enamel of desmostylians and proboscideans. Could this be a juvenile tusk tip of a gomphothere?

• I found this Informative 1

22 minutes ago, Boesse said:

Could be sperm whale, but the texture on the end is strange for a cetacean and reminds me of unworn enamel of desmostylians and proboscideans. Could this be a juvenile tusk tip of a gomphothere?

Yes !!! I have sent email to Richard Hulbert. I wondered in it was sirenian tusk. I have found a Rynchothereium tusk at this location.

The White Queen  ".... in her youth she could believe "six impossible things before breakfast"

1 hour ago, Harry Pristis said:

Could be dugongid -- I've not found one.

Following up on Harry's suggestion..

@siteseer found this in a Polk county mine in the 1980s !!!

This is what a fossil dugong tusk looks like.  This one was collected in the 80's or maybe the 70's from a phosphate mine in Polk County, Florida.  it's about 2 1/2 inches long with that small enamel crown being the part that stuck out.

Jess