Backpack recommendations

DocPom

Hey all,

I'm a newbie to fossil hunting and looking to get kitted out. With that in mind, can anyone give recommendations for backpacks - a separate thread described the SOG 18L which looks good, yet sadly the company do not ship internationally (I'm based in Germany).

Tips about things to look for/consider (sample storage, compartments etc) would be very welcome.

Many thanks.

I'm always a fan of army surplus packs.  They are typically cheap, have lots of room and pockets, and made to take abuse. You dont have to worry about tearing up an expensive brand new pack.

• I Agree 1

"There is no shortage of fossils. There is only a shortage of paleontologists to study them." - Larry Martin

Yup. Army surplus packs are the way to go. I put my equipment through the torments of Hades, and I've had cheap Chinese packs fail me.  

Here is my current setup, which allows me to have all my tools and accessories with me at all times in the field (including water). This is a 50+litre pack:

IMG_9253.jpegIMG_9251.jpegIMG_9252.jpeg

All the hammers, chisels, etc. It is weighted so that lugging 50+lbs of tools doesn't feel like it at all.  Zillions of sleeves and pockets. It is very well designed for weight distribution, and I can even slip additional tools in the outer ribbings. Clips for breast-bone and waist for better security.

Oh, and as a bonus, I stick a liner in this pack with a smaller backpack. If this pack fails, the liner is used as a backup, or it can double as a fossil surplus pack that I can wear on my front from a site. This thing is big enough to carry a small pry bar and about three days' worth of clothing and provisions. 

• I found this Informative 3

...How to Philosophize with a Hammer

A lot depends on what kind of fossil hunting you are doing. 

Backpacks are a good way to carry heavy loads of fossils and tools, especially if you need to hike at all to get to/from the site.