Need help with some local IDs

bamontgomery

I was a grad student at Mizzou from 2006-2012.  I wasn't really a rockhound at the time, but one of my fondest memories was fossil hunting with my father and grandfather when I was very young.  Because of that I took my son to a creek in Columbia around his third birthday to collect some.  I didn't really know what I was doing, and he mostly entertained himself by throwing rocks into the water.

A couple of days ago I found our rocks from the trip.  They had been in storage for a decade.  I'm still learning Illinois rocks where I now live, but know almost nothing about about Columbia finds.  I'll post some pictures here.  If anyone can tell me what we got, then I'd greatly appreciate it.  The pics are all from freshly washed and scrubbed stones.  If you'd rather see them dry then I can do that too.

Here's number one:

Edited by bamontgomery

Nice fossils! I believe that your first photo is a pair of crinoid stem external molds, with a worn internal mold on the right specimen. Your fourth photo is also an external mold of a crinoid stem. I think that your fifth specimen is a piece of chert, and I don't know what your sixth image is. Your seventh one looks like a few crinoid stems, and your last one looks like a brachiopod and crinoid piece is sticking out of it. Unfortunately, your second and third photos are not displaying. I will look forward to seeing what else you found! :)

The images are mostly out of focus, but I do see molds of crinoid stems and the crescent cross-sections of brachiopods (probably).  These actual fossils have dissolved leaving only the mold.  This appears to chert, probably from Mississippian age limestone.

7 minutes ago, Harry Pristis said:

The images are mostly out of focus, but I do see molds of crinoid stems and the crescent cross-sections of brachiopods (probably).  These actual fossils have dissolved leaving only the mold.  This appears to chert, probably from Mississippian age limestone.