First Ammonite Multi-Block, Advice Please

Calli99

Hi everyone,

I purchased this Lyme Regis specimen a few weeks ago and have been working on it with a pin vice and Dremel (with the proper fossil/rock appropriate tips) and am fairly happy with my progress. I am quite new to prepping and this is the first multi block I have attempted. The rock is not terribly hard for the most part but can be a bit sticky. 

Yesterday, whilst trying to uncover an ammonite in the corner of the rock, I uncovered another ammonite, and then another, and then a bivalve. The three ammonites are all pretty much on top of each other and I don't know how to go about prepping them. Part of the top one broke off, but I have kept the piece and can glue it back on. Really I want to know what you think would look best? How would you prep this? Do I sacrifice the top, broken one to reveal the middle ammonite, which looks to be the best of them? Do I leave it as is?

I really appreciate any input

IMG_0462.jpeg

IMG_0460.jpeg

IMG_0465.jpeg

IMG_0469.jpeg

IMG_7202.jpeg

I would prep out as much matrix as possible and leave the ammonites in place. Take your time and take a lot of breaks as the dremel engravers transfer a lot of vibration to your hand. You can actually cause permanent nerve damage from extended use.

Edited by Ptychodus04
  • I found this Informative 4
  • I Agree 3

Thank you, I do take lots of breaks. It’s actually quite frustrating as I limit myself to 20 minutes on the dremel at a time, but I always want to keep going!

The lower two ammonites will remain mostly in matrix I suppose, perhaps with more skill and proper air pens I could remove more of the matrix that sits between them.

2 hours ago, Ptychodus04 said:

dremel engravers transfer a lot of vibration to your hand. You can actually cause permanent nerve damage from extended use.

Oh gosh, I did not know this. As a user of dremels, I will take care too, thanks for the information!

~ Isaac; www.isaactfm.com