Unknown Fossil at base of Great Pyramid

James1234

I noticed this fossil in the limestone at the base of the great pyramid whilst on holiday. Reading online there are quite a few Nummulites in the rock of the pyramids themselves but not much information on larger finds and unlike the quarried and transported stone of the pyramids themselves this was seemingly part of the natural giza rock forming base around the structure. Im very much an amateur at this but out of pure interest I was wondering what you all may think of it?

20220526_090241.jpg

• I found this Informative 3
  • Enjoyed 3

It looks like a rib cage to me, but I'm not that good at vertebrates. Wait for more knowledgeable folks to chime in. Nice find.

• I found this Informative 1
  • Thank You 1

Mark.

Fossil hunting is easy -- they don't run away when you shoot at them!

I would also think ichnofossils of some kind.  

• Enjoyed 1

Life's Good!

Tortoise Friend.

MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png.a47e14d65deb3f8b242019b3a81d8160-1.png.60b8b8c07f6fa194511f8b7cfb7cc190.png

I originally thought ichnofossils too but when I enlarged the image it looks like bone.

• Enjoyed 1
  • Thank You 1

“If fossils are not "boggling" your mind then you are simply not doing it right” -Ken (digit)

"No fossil is garbage, it´s just not completely preserved” -Franz (FranzBernhard)

"With hammer in hand, the open horizon of time, and dear friends by my side, what can we not accomplish together?" -Kane (Kane)

"We are in a way conquering time, reuniting members of a long lost family" -Quincy (Opabinia Blues)

"I loved reading the trip reports, I loved the sharing, I loved the educational aspect, I loved the humor. It felt like home. It still does" -Mike (Pagurus)

“The best deal I ever got was getting accepted as a member on The Fossil Forum. Not only got an invaluable pool of knowledge, but gained a loving family as well.” -Doren (caldigger)