I haven't seen much discussion on the geology of the well-known Post Oak Creek here in North Texas. I'd usually seen it referred to the Eagle Ford Group/Formation, but without much substantiation. I really hadn't given it much care, but as is a healthy practice in science, one should often reevaluate one's beliefs especially in light of new information. I believe there is some evidence to support the Eagle Ford assignment, granted I'm not a professional nor very knowledgable about geology and I welcome discussion and contrarian input.

The Eagle Ford (Kef) is exposed near Sherman, so it's a possibility. The Austin Group/Austin Chalk is also here (Kau):

1815842629_ScreenShot2022-06-05at2_04_21PM.thumb.png.b6e5c1294a0168ca1be6de92f05d7063.png

^https://ngmdb.usgs.gov/Prodesc/proddesc_19387.htm

Here is the evidence that I believe favors that most of the Cretaceous fossils from POC are from the Eagle Ford:

1. Lithology

USGS describes the lithology of the Eagle Ford formation: "In Sherman Sheet (1967) (NE Texas) shale, selenitic, bituminous, [calcareous] concretions and septaria, thin platy beds of [sandstone] and sandy [limestone]. in middle and upper part, [medium] to [dark] gray; marine megafossils; thickness 300-400 ft." (https://mrdata.usgs.gov/geology/state/sgmc-unit.php?unit=TXKef%3B0) (http://northtexasfossils.com/pdfs/shermansheet.pdf)

I've found several matrix pieces with shark teeth in it that match the preservation of the vast majority of sharks in POC, which are sandstones.

IMG_2313.thumb.jpeg.2226f7253177dc2b3c4e1af20d8369fc.jpeg

IMG_2315.thumb.jpeg.ed65d88a457e65e2503756b2acd01b99.jpeg

IMG_2312.thumb.jpeg.4bae25c331f19b9ed4a1fc50279eb756.jpeg

IMG_2317.thumb.jpeg.4e191fff95a1b3be7784822057b64528.jpeg

There are also septarian nodules like this one:

IMG_5062.thumb.jpg.d983865ba015b6ea1a755614964091b1.jpg

2. Presence of Cameleolopha bellaplicata