Aussieopal

Hi everyone,

I am very new to this and have an extremely vivid imagination so please bear with me :headscratch:

I found this piece of limestone in lighting ridge Australia and I can't help but see what looks to be a palm leaf shape imprinted into it and on closer examination it looks like a small feather imprint also.

I hope my images are helpful.

Ready to be told it's just a rock :DOH:

IMG20220808092216.jpg

IMG20220808092256.jpg

I'm not seeing a leaf or a feather. If anything it's a mollusc in my opinion. It is hard to tell if it is anything indeed as it is quite worn. It may help to see all sides of it. Also, someone more familiar with the fossils in your area may be more helpful, so hang in there.

• I found this Informative 1
  • Thank You 1

Mark.

Fossil hunting is easy -- they don't run away when you shoot at them!

It looks like rock to me.  But I'm also completely unfamiliar with fossils in your area, so someone else may know more.

• Thank You 1

Thank you very much!

My partner keeps telling me it's just a rock but I feel like I can see more but as I said I do have an extremely vivid imagination! 

I will post a closer photo of the part I think looks like a feather, it think it's pretty cool none the less.

Thank you so very much again I really appreciate your time. :Smiling:

IMG20220808122549.jpg

All I'm seeing is a rock with possible iron inclusions (orange colour), and a bit dirty with ingrained dirt (black speckles). A hard scrub would remove the dirt, but the iron inclusions are a permanent feature of the rock.

• I found this Informative 2

~ Isaac; www.isaactfm.com 

"Don't move! He can't see us if we don't move!" - Alan Grant

Come to the spring that is The Fossil Forum, where the stream of warmth and knowledge never runs dry.

Thank you very much I have a few more interesting little things I would like to ask about soon  :thumbsu: