North Sulfur River Ids

treasured pasts

I'm a rank amateur at identifying fossils and need some help with yesterdays finds including what to look for to help ID. Any help is appreciated.

post-3773-025571600 1280688577_thumb.jpgI think this is a straight Ammonite or maybe a bone fragment

post-3773-087172500 1280688590_thumb.jpgThese are various interesting shaped finds. The red one on the bottom has interesting patterns and appears to have some shell attached like a conglomerate.

post-3773-059154400 1280688605_thumb.jpgGiant Clam? - Nice curl on it.

post-3773-011392900 1280688614_thumb.jpg Appears to be half a vertabrae from maybe a fish. Both sides are flat. Concave on one flat side.

post-3773-031851100 1280688628_thumb.jpg Lots of oyster shells etc. I can take closeups if anything looks interesting.

Man was it HOT out there!!!

Number 1 may be a baculite section and # 3 looks lime an exogyra ponderosa? Oyster

In the last picture is a "tooth shaped item. It isn't a tooth but maybe part of an ammonite. It is covered with those oak leaf type designs.post-3773-062542200 1280695405_thumb.jpg

In the last picture is a "tooth shaped item. It isn't a tooth but maybe part of an ammonite. It is covered with those oak leaf type designs.post-3773-062542200 1280695405_thumb.jpg

may be a fragment from a pachydiscus paulsoni ammonite. the pattern is called a "suture" pattern.

I kinda' like "oak leaf design" :); very descriptive.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

I kinda' like "oak leaf design" :); very descriptive.

Flowery descriptions are so much fun!:)

It did draw the right picture anyway. I work in medicine. You'd have thought suture would have come to mind.

Edited by treasured pasts