Snake & Mouse ?

Pappy

That's really wierd! If those are cigarette butts (1st pic, in the gravel), I can get a handle on the scale, but an idea of where it was found would help, too.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

Guest solius symbiosus

Looks like sed. structure to me. Those lines in the structure resemble dessication cracks, but idk?. Where was it found?

Tks for asking. I live in North West Georgia. Right under Chatt. Tn. I lay rock for a living and this is the 1st one that I have found. :) And yes I hate to say<<< they are cig butts :mellow:

Guest Nicholas

I'm going with interesting rock on this one, just doesn't seem to be a fossil to me. Maybe some of the more experienced hunters can show me what I'm missing.

They're probably trace fossils, aka burrows of some sort of invertebrate.

;) Thanks a whole lot. My next question is:: Is it worth anything or should I mount in on my rock fireplace? :D

I think it's value lies in it's visual interest; the viewer needn't be a geologist to enjoy the serpentine pattern and interesting texture. It's nature's art!

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

I think it's value lies in it's visual interest; the viewer needn't be a geologist to enjoy the serpentine pattern and interesting texture. It's nature's art!

Great point!