s0ledad

New To Collecting In New Mexico

s0ledad

Hey everyone! I am new to collecting here in the land of enchantment and was wondering if anyone had any suggestion/advice/favorite spots they could turn me onto. Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a million

bear-dog
:) First ,welcome from Florida.Xonenine has given you useful info.Research it first as some of the entries may not be acessable as this id dated info,but still useful. :D

piranha

Here is a great resource with dozens of sites sorted by fossil type, county and GPS coordinates . It is always best to research in advance the current status of any locality. Try networking with a rock and mineral club. There are always fossil hunters among the ranks happy to have you on board. Then you will discover which sites are most productive and worth your time and effort.

SITES LINK

CLUBS LINK

Geocacher

Greetings from Albuquerque, I joined today. Thank you for asking this question for me and to the others for the answers. :)

Edited by Geocacher

Guest N.AL.hunter

I once found some nice fossils in the NW area the NM. If my memory is correct, it was called Lake Valley? Really hard to find on maps, but do not get it confused with the other Lake Valley down south in NM (Yes, there were two of them on the maps). If you lived in south NM, I could help you out a lot more (lived in El Paso, TX). Also, in the Sangra de Cristo mountains around Philmont Scout Ranch, I once found fossil leaves, but that was during a backpacking trip and the location is unknown to me. So, see if you find any literature talking about those areas.

Xiphactinus