Paleo Painting

chele

Okay, I am almost done with the painting. I chose a really cool fish from the Cretaceous. I hope I got it right. Critique away... :unsure:

post-5476-0-97601300-1306904670_thumb.jpg

Chelebele

Chele, coming from a fellow artist...you've done a really nice job capturing the subject matter. Love your color choices, balance and unity. Very nice!

WELCOME TO ALL THE NEW MEMBERS!

If history repeats itself, I'm SO getting a dinosaur. ~unknown

www.rockinric81.wixsite.com/fossils

I am not an artist at all, but I think the picture is very very cool. Nice job!

Nice painting. You did a great job capturing the mostly overwater view, with an underwater view up front. So, is it a North American fish? Xiphactinus? If so, I don't think there are N Am Cret volcanoes, or Monkey Puzzle trees.

On a lighter note, what's that sandpiper doing on top of the tree?

Edited by jpc

Nice painting. You did a great job capturing the mostly overwater view, with an underwater view up front. So, is it a North American fish? If so, I don't thinkn there are N Am Cret volcanoes, or Monkey Puzzle trees.

Hello JPC. I read up on the web somewhere that monkey puzzle trees were in the cretaceous. I just threw in the volcano(it could have happened). The fish is Enchodus.

The sandpiper is part of a large ocean mural I painted on a wall in our basement.

post-5476-0-86047500-1306906677_thumb.jpg

Chelebele

Hi Chele,

I think you are a very good artist. I certainly respect that, as my sister is also an artist and art teacher. The extent of my drawing/painting are stick figures!LOL.

Here's a thought, though. I've noticed a lot of the nice fossil wood you've found on previous posts. How about, if feasible, making a frame for your paleo art by cutting and polishing strips of the fossil wood and inlay it into a wooden frame, thus combining your art, lapidary skills, and fossil hobby.

Steve