• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 auwg

auwg

• Banned
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 24 July 2011 - 02:32 PM

Some of this may sound pretty newbie-ish, but I don't care 'cuz I'm a newbie.
I've rooted through the Florida info pile here and elsewhere on the net and it seems most everybody recommends the same dozen or so sites for fossil hunting.
In all those messages and pages, no new sites have turned up for twenty years or so.
Understandable, I guess. Go where things have already been found.
But everybody's been going to those places for decades, and I've seen some comments like 'the days of "everybody finds a meg tooth" are over'.(about Aurora, NC, for instance)

Some say it's getting harder to find any decent meg teeth in the Peace River.
Got my doubts about that, but it could be mining techniques have to change a bit to reach them.
Dig deeper. Let the tourists work the surface stuff.

Ditto the creeks in Gainesville, apparently. Picked clean by too many pickers? Doubtful. Just out of reach of the most common tactics. Some say to wait for a storm and try again. That's fine, but between storms a shovel might be the method.

The Vulcan Mine in Brooksville is closed until further notice, and a couple of people I've talked to said it was getting harder to find anything good in the mine debris after digging stopped.
Well, yeah, that does seem kind of likely. :) No new debris and the old stuff was picked clean.

So... what's to stop us from NOT working in the streams and rivers? If the goodies are being washed into the waterways by erosion, why not move ashore ten feet or so and dig? Holes can be filled back in easily enough. Waterway embankments don't have to be disturbed. No soggy feet, no floaty noodles on the tools and sieves.