Late Pennsylvannian Finds From Lost Creek Jacksboro Finis Shale

mikecable

I hope I'm not overstepping my place on the Fossil Forum by starting this topic. Like bobwill, I've become fascinated by the Finis Shale at Lost Creek, after just two trips. Both trips were very muddy, but I'm still amazed by the variety of fauna represented at the site.

We had the privilege of meeting the illustrious, infamous and famous Roz at the end of our last visit. When you have "Rozilla" emblazoned across your rear window you have to expect that people might make a connection to the Fossil Forum. The "I'd rather be in the Cretaceous" bumper sticker was just the clincher. But this topic has been inspired by bobwill, Lance, Dan, erose and many others as well.

I'm not trying to usurp, step on, or over-ride anybody's topic on the the Finis Shale. Which doesn't mean I don't have my own self-serving interest in starting this topic.

I'm new to this, and especially new to identification. I've spent the past several days of my spring break sorting and attempting to ID some of the fossils I've found at Lost Creek. I've sorted, and resorted the fossils I've found. I've compared them to posts by bobwill and others. I've searched Pennsylvanian Fossils of North Texas by McKinzie and Mcleod. I've double-checked with Lance's http://northtexasfossils.com site. I'm learning how to use Index Fossils of North America by Shimer and Shrock, and Invertebrate Fossils by Moore, Lalicker and Fischer. So I'm trying to learn to become more than the "guy who picks up neat fossils."

I'm also trying to engage my sixth grade science students. They become more involved when I can make it real for them. My collecting trips and ID efforts excite them. When they see a topic like this one, they see me as a scientist engaging with other scientists. Which is largely true.