How to prepare a fish fossil from the Green River Formation

Dapalis1

Hi guys,

I have been given a slab from the Green River formation with a 3 inches Knightia Eocaena in it. The problem is that i never prepared a fossil by myself. happy.gif I have also been given a kind of sharp tool to scratch it out.

My question is about the way to bring the fossil to light. Indeed i have no experience at all in fish fossil preparartion. To be honest i don't even know how to use the sharp tool. And it is pretty hard to come up with a prepartion technique.

And i would like to avoid damaging the fish and chiping large pieces. I just want to make sure that i am goint to do it right.

That is why i am asking you to give me some advise before i get started and to show me how to prepare it.

Thanks,

Dapalis1

PS: i attached some pictures of the slab.

post-434-1221992006_thumb.jpgpost-434-1221992018_thumb.jpg

Dapalis1

I don't know either :D and am soon to be in the same situation as you. I was told, if your fish is from the 18" layer of the Green river formation that you can use a chainsaw file to work on it because that rock is softer. But actually using the file is another thing. I have no clue and don't want to ruin the fish. If anyone out there could provide a tutorial or has the technology to make a video and post it to Youtube or something I would be very grateful!

The soul of a Fossil Hunter is one that is seeking, always.

I don't know either :D and am soon to be in the same situation as you. I was told, if your fish is from the 18" layer of the Green river formation that you can use a chainsaw file to work on it because that rock is softer. But actually using the file is another thing. I have no clue and don't want to ruin the fish. If anyone out there could provide a tutorial or has the technology to make a video and post it to Youtube or something I would be very grateful!

Take a look at Karl Ulrich website. Fish fossil preparation