Petrified Wood?

z10silver

I wasn't sure if this thing could be a piece of petrified wood or just a weird looking geofact. The concentric rings visible in the first photo below reminded me of growth rings. Found in southern CA near the CA/NV border.

IMG_0356.jpg

IMG_0354.jpg

IMG_0357.jpg

IMG_0358.jpg

Edited by z10silver

I don't think it's petrified wood but the only good way to tell is to look at it under very high magnification, preferably a polished face across the "rings."

I think it looks like a stromatolite? But Im not a expert i'd wait to get more opinions from people familiar with the area.

Intresting find whatever it is :)

If it's not wood, it's a darn good impersonator!

Look closely at the left side of the last picture, down in the recess: looks a lot like a knot from a branch to me.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

Im sure it looks like wood to me too!!!

Hunted for fossils in:
UK - Lyme Regis, Charmouth, The Thames and Hampshire (two trips)
Egypt - Desert somewhere near Giza - Nummalites and petrified wood
Australia - Lightening Ridge opal fields - opalised things!!!!
USA - Florida- Gainesville creeks and Diving in the Santa Fe river Meg teeth and 10 000 year old mammals
New Zealand- Around 30 sites visited and collected from. Including Chatham Islands. and now Canada

my vote is stromatolite. Notice how it is wearing, from between the growth rings, indicating it is (or was) a different material. I have never seen petrified wood weather like that, but fairly common amongst the stromatolites in this area.

Brent Ashcraft

ashcraft, brent allen

My vote is for rock. That area had a lot of volcanic activity as evidenced by the lava fields you can see from the highways.