Microscope Question

mikecable

post-7463-0-02175800-1360861756_thumb.jpg

I acquired the above microscope for free. It is a Seiler Westlab medical microscope. The two eye pieces are WF10X--18 mm. The objective lenses are 4/0.1, 10/0.25, 40/0.65 and 100/1.25 Oil. All of the objective say 160/0.17.

What objective lenses, eyepieces, ring lights, barlow lenses would I need to change this into less of a biological microscope, and make it better for fossils? I think I have an idea, but I'm not a microscope expert, despite being a science teacher.

This appears to be a fairly decent microscope. Worth modifying?

If you acquired this microscope for free you are very fortunate. If it were mine I would leave the microscope as is and go on e-bay and look for a binocular disecting microscope for my use with fossils. I think the cost to convert the scope, if even possible, would be greater than the cost of a microscope from e-bay. The 10X eyepieces you have are good, but you would have to completely replace the objective lenses and their mounts. The stage would need replacing and I don't know if the body of the microscope would accomodate all that to give you the working distances needed.

You might want to consider some of the digital microscopes available now instead of an optical microscope. I have a Dino-Lite digital microscope that is really good for fossil hobby work.

Jim

The Eocene is my favorite

If you acquired this microscope for free you are very fortunate. If it were mine I would leave the microscope as is and go on e-bay and look for a binocular disecting microscope for my use with fossils. I think the cost to convert the scope, if even possible, would be greater than the cost of a microscope from e-bay. The 10X eyepieces you have are good, but you would have to completely replace the objective lenses and their mounts. The stage would need replacing and I don't know if the body of the microscope would accomodate all that to give you the working distances needed.