11 replies to this topic

#1 sward

sward

Advanced Member

• Regular Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 930 posts

Posted 03 May 2013 - 10:22 AM

We seem to get several new members from the Dallas/Ft. Worth (DFW) area of Texas.  We of course welcome y'all and want to see each of you succeed in your pursuits.

One of the common questions I've noticed is "...where are some hunting spots around the Metroplex?"  Being a newbie myself, I know getting started and learning how to investigate and find new spots can be one of the hardest endeavors.

So, I thought I would try to put together a "simple map" of the DFW Metroplex area with some of the commonly known areas, or at least some common sites I'm familiar with.  By no means have I intended this map to be all inclusive of commonly known areas, nor have I intended to identify "secret spots".

Most of the sites I'm familiar with are on the western side of the Metroplex because I live in the western portion.  Therefore, I spend most of my time in this area.  I'm not very familiar with areas in the eastern portion of the Metroplex.

I intend this map to be an on-going work in progress.  If you know some common sites, particularly on the east side of the Metroplex, let me know and I'll try to update this map as I learn more sites.  I have no intention of posting "secret sites", only those that seem to be common knowledge and can already be found by doing some internet searches for fossils in the DFW area.

These images from Google Earth are dated 6/12/2011 and 8/2/2012, so conditions may have changed since these images were made.  Therefore, some areas may now be fenced off or access may be limited.  Also, some of these areas are/were very easy to access, while others require a bit of effort (creek beds, etc.).  Keep in mind that you should never cross fences without permission and that any situation can become a dangerous one.  Please use all necessary common sense and caution anytime you're exploring.