Cephalopod, Turtle Or What?

Okie

Keeping in mind that I'm a complete fossil novice, I was very excited to see this piece my brother found. Not a trilobite, right? Cephalopoda were invertebrates, right? This piece looks as though it has a spine or is that deceptive? Could it be a turtle?

Found in Murray Co., OK near Arbuckle Mountains. For decades my brother has picked up interesting 'rocks' laying on the ground and this is one so I can't tell you the geologic formation. Fossils from many ages have come from this area.

post-12547-0-48251000-1376071732_thumb.jpgpost-12547-0-80262200-1376071751_thumb.jpgpost-12547-0-09529900-1376071775_thumb.jpgpost-12547-0-00150100-1376071798_thumb.jpgpost-12547-0-08335600-1376071823_thumb.jpgpost-12547-0-42494500-1376071847_thumb.jpg

unless I'm completely mistaken, you've indeed got part of a cephalopod. The "spine" that you see is actualy the animals siphon tube, or "siphuncle":

1c.jpg

the siphuncle comnnected each of the chambers of the animals shell; it used these to maintain buoyancy while it swam through the ocean.

It looks like most of the fossil is a replacement mold of the original shell

that's a pretty cool find - cephalopod's are some of my favorites!

Edited by John K
  • I found this Informative 1

John K., thank you! I can now see it in the light you've described and looking at the other fossil I posted in July, imagining it cut/broken differently. I couldn't get past thinking it was a 'spine'. Do you think it is a straight shelled Endoceras as was my July fossil? And, I really appreciate the drawing you included. Can you point out where on the drawing, my piece would be? Can the approximate size of the animal be determined from my specimen? So full of questions....sorry.