Indian Artifact

BBBILL66

Hello All,

I found this Indian artifact near a stream bed in Monmouth County, NJ. What stuck me was the perfectly round hole in the top center. The article is made from a very heavy and solid Quartz type of rock. My guess is it was used as a hammer-head, fire lighter or something used to bang or hit with the hand.

Thank you.

post-12891-0-19150000-1376992586_thumb.jpg

post-12891-0-33888100-1376992603_thumb.jpg

post-12891-0-14400900-1376992627_thumb.jpg

The pictures are not the best but I don't see anything that would make me think this was an Indian artifact. I can't tell you why it happens but I have seen lots of rocks with holes very similar to this one in the streams in Monmouth Co. But of course I am no expert.

"It is difficult to get a man to understand something when his salary depends upon his not understanding it."

Upton Sinclair

Not an Indian artifact, holie rock---Tom

Grow Old Kicking And Screaming !!
"Don't Tread On Me"

Not an Indian artifact, holie rock---Tom

Agreed, just a stone with peculiar attributes.

Jess B.

Note: I am a mentor on an Arrowhead web site.

If you wish, I can send you a link to the site and you can verify with other collectors on your find.

You could make some friends there that just may lead you to some areas that you can find some artifacts.

You are in an area that yields some nice stuff from time to time.

I would love the link to your arrowhead website! I've never found an artifact that I know of, but we are in an area rich with them.

And I find holie rocks all the time too. :)

The more I learn, I realize the less I know.

:wacko:

Go to my

Gallery for images of Fossil Jewelry, Sculpture & Crafts

Pinned Posts:

I'd also be interested in the Arrowhead link. :) My husband takes a more active interest in that area, but I do enjoy them!

The only possible artifact I could see it being is an arrow shaft straightener.

Edited by Herb