Volitan

Mulbring Quarry (Again)

Volitan

Hi. New member here. I'm a Sydney resident with a long standing interest, but very little local experience, in finding fossils. After receiving contact details for access permission from a fellow forum member, I did a recent trip to Mulbring quarry (about 80 mins north of Sydney). I know there is a lot of information on Mulbring out there so I wont bother repeating it, instead I wanted to ask a questions about some of the fossils I found.

The first shot is what I think is a crinoid stem. It seems to have lateral branches though. Does that mean it is an arm rather then a stem ?

I should probably chip away that piece of bryzoan lying across the end.

The second shot is a brachiopod. This appears to be an internal cast. I'm curious about the regular rows of holes. I'm thinking these could only come about if the shell had spikes sticking inwards from the interior surface of the shell. Sounds painful for the animal inside! Can anyone explain these ?

The last shot is one of the two species of bryzoan I could see. Both are abundant, in fact its impossible to find a piece of rock at this site which doesn't have fossils in it. Is this Fenestella, or has it been reclassified ?

Looking at that last piece, which is about 300mm across, its a wonder someone hasn't dug this stuff up and flogged it in Sydney as 'feature rock' for rock walls or something.

cheers

Arron

post-12761-0-57165800-1377081154_thumb.jpg

post-12761-0-97798300-1377081255_thumb.jpg

post-12761-0-47710600-1377081279_thumb.jpg

Edited by Volitan

Paleoworld-101

Howdy Arron,

Great to see some photos of your finds, and I am glad to hear you got to the quarry OK and had a great time. No one leaves this place empty handed.

That first specimen is definitely Crinoid and to me looks to be an arm rather than a stem. It could be an arm from Tribrachyocrinus etheridgei. Well done!