Large Femur Type Fossil

SammyBinLaden

I have had this fossil in my garage for years now, I got it from one of my high school teachers. I don't have any idea what type of dinosaur this might be from or what part of the body it is. The fossil is cut and polished on two sides and is wet in this photo. The black spots on it are dried algae, left over from its days as a fish tank ornament. ;) I am most interested in finding out the approximate value, as I am in dire need of cash. ( the coin leaned against the fossil to show size is a U.S. quarter )

DSC01664.jpg

DSC01674.jpg

DSC01671.jpg

any info would be a great help as I have no knowledge of fossils what so ever

Cheers!

Looks like a slice of the distal end of a Femur rather than approximal. Species indeterminate.

Should slice into some nice polished material.

Value????

You might check on Ebay to see if you could find someone that sells polished pieces. That may be a resource to turn it.

v = 0.25 * g0.5 * SL1.67 * h-1.17

Do you have any information about where it was found? Without that, its identity (and its value other than that as lapidary material) will be vague at best.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

Do you have any information about where it was found? Without that, its identity (and its value other than that as lapidary material) will be vague at best.

no idea where it was found. what is lapidary material? Are there stores where I could take this thing to sell, like a coin shop, but for fossils? how about a ball park value $100? $500? what would you pay for it?

no idea where it was found. what is lapidary material? Are there stores where I could take this thing to sell, like a coin shop, but for fossils?