cowsharks

Macro Lens For A Nikon D7000 Dslr

cowsharks

So I have a new Nikon D7000 and want to get a good macro lens. After reading some of the threads here I think I might have narrowed it down to one of these two.

1) Sigma 258306 105mm F2.8 EX DG OS HSM Macro Lens for Nikon DSLR Camera ($680)

2) Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor Lens ($800)

I'm a novice at this stuff and want something easy to use that produces nice images.

Anyone got any thoughts on these lenses, or have a better option for me to consider?

thanks,

Daryl.

Jed '06

Hi Daryl,

The Nikon105mm macro is a great lens, haven't any experience with the Sigma. Best results are with a tripod and manual focusing on any macro lense. Also a ringlight is best for micro photography. These are just my opinions, I'm sure there are some pros on TFF to give better indepth info and advice. Enjoy your new lense & be sure to share some photos! :)

Jed

snolly50

I don't have any knowledge regarding the lens you mention, but I do know that's a great camera.

Scylla

My wife who knows more about cameras than I know about fossils says go with the Nikkor if you can afford it.

Jersey

Daryl - I'm only a novice at photography and I have no experience with using a macro lens. But I wonder if another option that you might want to consider is a close -up lens or a set of close-up lenses. My wife and I have a Nikon D80 and we occasionally use a set of Hoya Close-Up lenses and have been happy with the results. We use the lenses rarely and so can't say how they compare to a macro lens (I'm sure they are not as good). But for the price (around$50 for a set) you may want to consider seeing if they meet your needs. See for example some on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=hoya+close+up+lens+set&rh=i%3Aaps%2Ck%3Ahoya+close+up+lens+set . Perhaps others on the forum can offer their opinions on this.

Malcolmt