oneofmetwo

Seeking - Fossil Sites In Socal

oneofmetwo

I am an amateur fossil collector, barely even a hobbiest. But I have young healthy knees and a strong desire to hunt ancient fauna.

1) Do you want to go hunting? I am very open to meeting in person and venturing out together. However, be warned, I'm an extrovert, so I will try to be entertaining.

2) Do you know any proven/potential sites near Los Angeles (within 100 miles)?

- Abandoned quarries (I'll wear a hard hat, I know)

- Highway embankments (visibility vest, I know)

- Friendly rural landowners (bullet proof vest, I know)

- Dry river beds/canyons

- Abandoned mines or wells (write my will ahead of time, I know)

Bev

You are too funny! If you every make it out to Minnesota, give me a shout! :-D

oneofmetwo

Thanks to this site, I found a link to the Southern California Paleontological Society (https://sites.google.com/site/scpaleo/) and have gotten involved.

However, I'm still looking for comrades who want to go collecting, and who know of good locations to look.

Let me know if you're interested!

AncientEarth

I live up in SLO County if you ever want to plan something.

lissa318

lol! Welcome from PA. :) You came to the right place to meet some friendly fossil hunters!!!

hardlyatwork

hi there

we joined so cal plaeo last year and have been to a couple of trips with them. great bunch of folks! the meetings and speakers are informative and you will learn a lot from them. i'm not sure what etiquette is on this forum but i have a couple of sites i'd be willing to share with ya!

Scylla

Welcome from New York. I come to California about twice a year and would love to go hunting for fossils.

Sickle_Claw