My Trip To Peru.

PaleoRon

I have always liked the colors and preservation of high quality Peruvian shark teeth and I have always wanted to go there and find my own. At the end of the fall semester (I am a full time college student) I found myself with a few weeks off before the spring semester started. Unfortunately, due to the frigid temperatures, I couldn't indulge in my tooth collecting hobby/obsession so I came up with a plan. I got on the internet and I found a fossil guide in Peru. The guy I contacted bills himself as the Desert Man. I had read that he charged $100 a day for desert tours. Not chump change, but reasonable if you're finding killer stuff. When I contacted him the price had gone up to $150 a day. Not what I had been expecting but looking at the pics on his site, maybe it was worth it. When I told him I just wanted to look for teeth the price went up to $250 a day. This was not good. Then he told me we would do a 50 - 50, and split all the teeth we found during the trip evenly and I got to pick first. Wow, thanks. At this point alarm bells were starting to ring and I'm thinking it's time to "just say no". While this is going through my mind I get an email from a friend who tells me that going with the guy is a VERY bad idea. I also heard from someone who lived in that part of Peru who told me it was a VERY bad idea to go with this guy. I had pretty much decided that things were not to my liking and hearing from other people made me feel like I wasn't paranoid. Needless to say I made other contacts. Most of my trip was just checking out different areas by bus and taxi, but I managed to spend one 9 hour day in the desert.