Lake Waco Research Area

RyanNREMTP

Today I decided to go out and explore the fossil area nearby. It's my first time visiting there and it won't be my last. I went out with a plan to find myself an echinoderm and then whatever else I came along. I went by the Corp of Engineers and got my permit. It is free and they are pretty friendly at the office. I drove back down the road to the parking area and unloaded my gear. The weather was nice at first. A lot of clouds and a nice breeze.

IMG_20140424_091926_zpsaadmi95q.jpg

I walked/hiked down the trail and found the pit area. I started to my right and went exploring. There are tons of shells out there. You could fill up a five gallon bucket pretty quickly. It took my forever to find any trace of an enchinoderm. I managed to only find one possibly two spines and a couple of plate fragments. I'm going to start ID'ing them today. Here is one fossil I found that I thought was interesting.

IMG_20140424_093814_zpsq8dyq4ra.jpg

Overall picture of my haul.

IMG_20140424_125335_zpsalzdljgj.jpg

IMG_20140424_125356_zpscftabwq7.jpg

Trace fossil I found.

c0eb543c-a4cd-4793-9211-6c50ae1435e3_zps

Are these worms or something else? They remind me of snail poop.

IMG_20140424_125752_zps9xfylxik.jpg

So all in all, not too bad. I will be going back soon before it gets too hot here.

looks like u nailed a nice pycnodont mouth plate. good find!

Grüße,

Daniel A. Wöhr aus Südtexas

"To the motivated go the spoils."

Are those tube worms in the last pic?

Nice finds! Looks like a nice place to spend a day.

~Charlie~

"There are those that look at things the way they are, and ask why.....i dream of things that never were, and ask why not?" ~RFK
->Get your Mosasaur print
->How to spot a fake Trilobite
->How to identify a CONCRETION from a DINOSAUR EGG

Nice finds, Ryan. There is a world of microfossils there too.

The human mind has the ability to believe anything is true.  -  JJ