Moroccan Trilobite- Fossil, Faux, Or Fake?

Arch2000

My very first fossil purchase, 7 years ago, may be a fake. I'm not too proud to admit at the time I knew a lot less than I do now, and the inaugural piece of my collection may be a fake.

Over the years I've learned that Moroccan trilobites are often faked, and many of the fakes look like the one I have. I'm no expert though, and water to get others' more educated opinions. What do you think?

post-15511-0-62953600-1402935822_thumb.jpg

post-15511-0-37617100-1402935836_thumb.jpg

post-15511-0-63583300-1402935852_thumb.jpg

post-15511-0-14587700-1402935868_thumb.jpg

post-15511-0-50626600-1402935904_thumb.jpg

Looks at least partially real to me.

The cephalon(head) looks genuine. The rest may be restored or repaired.

Looking forward to meeting my fellow Singaporean collectors! Do PM me if you are a Singaporean, or an overseas fossil-collector coming here for a holiday!

Heavy restoration is the norm with these; they are quarried by blasting.

No shame in having a cool display piece, when it's a resto, not a complete fake-o. :)

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

Yes, restoration or repair isn't a problem, and I have many pieces that are repaired (how often does a commercial fossil come out of the ground perfect anyways?).

Good to know that this may be real, I had written it off as likely fake. I heard somewhere the number of leg pairs gives an indication?

If I'm not wrong, that should be a cambropallas? post-10068-0-11080300-1403020305_thumb.jpg

I'm not a really convinced about this one.

I think the thorax and pygidium might be fully fake (starting from the red line, part 2). It's just all too smooth looking. No sign of the short dorsal spines on the thorax neither.