Preparing A Fossil Scalop From North Myrtle Beach

AlexMcCarthyWX

Good afternoon guys,

I just got back from a vacation at North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. Like always, all sorts of treasures wash up on the beach including the scallop pictured below. Since it seems to be a complete specimen with limited wear around the edges, I would like to try to prepare it and remove the matrix from the shells, however I do not want to ruin the fossil. Since I have no experience in preparation, does anyone have a few tips for how I could successfully go about cleaning this up? Also, if anyone is good with identification I would love to know what type of scallop this is, though I haven't actively searched for an ID yet. Thank you!

post-15986-0-84471900-1406321805_thumb.jpg

post-15986-0-99350100-1406321809_thumb.jpg

The encrustation appears to be, at least in part, biological. If so, keep in mind that the critters that made it had a vested interest in its durability; it could be tougher than the scallop shell itself. Start with a toothbrush and water, and see where it gets you.

If you resort to using vinegar, you may find that the shell is vulnerable to it as well, so be slow and careful, and keep some bicarb mixed up as a neutralizing agent.

It has promise; good luck!

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!