Nubie Question -Tooth-

Riffmeister

hello everyone i am new to fossils in general, but im a ameture rockhound and during a recent trip in my hometown i found a tooth shaped rock ..... then after about ten hours of removing sediment and crustateaus smaller fossils from the piece i realized i had something shaped far from what i had found..... my final guess is a Enchodus palatine tooth..... but im not a avid fossil hunter and do not know for sure, what i do know is that the tooths curved inside is sharp , very sharp and so are the bolth sides of the triangulated side of it. .... but the other side is not sharp, and for the backside the shape is untouched and is as found and without buildup of anything on it--- any leads would be appriciated very much!!! thanks for reading ... and also was found below 1000' elevation in northern california---

post-16342-0-46970900-1409382580_thumb.jpg

post-16342-0-10016100-1409382637_thumb.jpg

Sorry, but I do not see anything fossil-ish about this piece.

I see no enamel, no bone.

Doesn't look like any of the enchodus teeth I've seen on the forum.

I think you have an interestingly shaped rock.

Regards,

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER

MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png      PaleoPartner.png.30c01982e09b0cc0b7d9d6a7a21f56c6.png.a600039856933851eeea617ca3f2d15f.png     Postmaster1.jpg.900efa599049929531fa81981f028e24.jpg    VFOTM.png.f1b09c78bf88298b009b0da14ef44cf0.png  VFOTM  --- APRIL - 2015  

John Muir ~ ~ ~ ~   ><))))( *>  About Me      

It certainly has a suggestive form, but I can't quite see it as organic in origin.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

post-16342-0-98202000-1409623673_thumb.jpg. ( not my image!!!)