How To Glue Concretions Back Together For Prepping

J-n-Nay

Hi,

I am new to fossil prepping.

I have some crab containing concretions that I would like to prep.

What adhesive do you use to glue the conecretions back together?
What are the steps?
Thank you in advance for your time and assistance,
J

I find that super glue works just fine, but maybe someone else has found an even better product. The important thing is that it's thin enough not to leave any cracks and nevertheless strong enough to hold up to torture.

Edited by Ludwigia

Greetings from the Lake of Constance. Roger

http://www.steinkern.de/

I also use super glue, but you have to be Extremely PRECISE when setting it. Zero margin for error if you catch my drift ..

Paul

...I'm back.

I used a two part epoxy resin to glue a conc. I am working on. When using larger quantities of super glue you might have more time to work, but I've found myself regretting using super glue on some repairs as it doesn't give you time to work and get the fit just right, like Paul said.

The thing I'm not sure on yet is whether you should apply adhesive to the entire concretion, or avoid the bits you know will be exposed.

I've seen videos online showing concretion repair from start to finish (can't remember the exact source - he was an English chap) and he applied epoxy adhesive to the whole thing since the adhesive could be prepped off. Don't know if superglue would make it harder to prep rock off crab shell though.

I've just put together my first conc. so I'm still in the learning curve too.

Good luck - look forward to seeing pics of your results

• I found this Informative 1

The guys are of course right about superglue. You have to try your fit beforehand and be absolutely certain that the pieces fit snuggly together and know exactly how to set them together before you apply the glue.

Greetings from the Lake of Constance. Roger

http://www.steinkern.de/