Muscle Attachments Or Something Else.

DE&i

Would anyone recognise these vein like structures , perhaps where muscle attachments once were? And if so why are there prominent ridges left on the bone.

Im just trying to get a little foot hold on these markings to start some research if anyone could help.

post-13364-0-89733500-1425585490_thumb.jpgpost-13364-0-61224700-1425585515_thumb.jpgpost-13364-0-69214100-1425585552_thumb.jpg

Regards.....D&E&i

The only certainty with fossil hunting is the uncertainty.

https://lnk.bio/Darren.Withers

I'm no expert, but I can chime in a little. ;)

The structures you're showing there are too small to be the muscle attachment points. I suspect that they're not significant to the critter. A good example of what muscle attachments look like is on a bird's breastbone: the flat sides on the keel anchor the breast muscles. Human cheekbones are another example; that's where the jaw muscles attach. Usually, muscles attach to ridges that are proportional to the size of the muscle.

If you've ever looked closely at fresh chicken bones at dinner, you may have noticed that they are sheathed in a fairly tough membrane. The texture of the bone under the membrane isn't usually completely smooth, and has some variability. Leg bones will have a rougher texture near the joint ends, for instance, and tend to be smoother in the middle.

I suspect that the rough texture helps to keep the membranes in place, which in turn anchors the muscles (among other functions).

So, while one of more muscles probably did attach to the textured area, it's not the texture that defines the attachment point.

Good question, and I'll be interested to see if anyone else chimes in! :D

I'm no expert, but I can chime in a little. ;)