'thing' Inside A Piece Of Flint.

expat

Very interesting forum. Any help would be appreciated here, clearly I know nothing about fossils.

I found this in UK, its a piece of flint, around 7cms at longest point, the 'thing' is in a hollow void which is strangely symmetrical.

I've always wondered. Thanks in advance any ideas?

Simonpost-17891-0-79204700-1427010274_thumb.jpgpost-17891-0-41149800-1427010323_thumb.jpg

I agree with mould fossil of crinoid stem. The symmetrical shape is actually a cast of the lumen in it's center.

Edit: Just figured out that Ludwigia may be holding out for contextual evidence of an alternate stalked echinoderm. There were a few.

Edited by Rockwood

Thank you so much for your help guys. In my naivety I always thought it to be a piece of spine from some creature, far more exciting than a plant stem I feel!

Clearly my collecting interests lay elsewhere.

Ludwigia, it was found around 50ks above London in Buckinghamshire. As a builder I would often sift through the huge piles of stone that were delivered to be poured below drains in house construction. This was from one of those.

If the flint was quarried in the area, then it's probably either from glacial or cretaceous deposits which would then speak for a crinoid stem mold as the others have suggested. That was also my first thought.

Edited by Ludwigia

Greetings from the Lake of Constance. Roger

http://www.steinkern.de/

... I always thought it to be a piece of spine from some creature, far more exciting than a plant stem...

Plant stem? Nae! 'Tis a section of 'stalk' from a starfish relative. A truly ancient lineage, persisting in our oceans today!

Pretty exciting, I say! :)

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!