Xiphactinus Tooth?

TNCollector

I found this tooth on a recent collecting trip to the Cretaceous of North Mississippi, which would have been part of the Mississippi Embayment during the time. I found many enchodus and shark's teeth, but this one is different then both of them. It does not have the striations that the encodes teeth have, and it is a completely different shape than the shark's teeth, so the only thing I can think of is Xiphactinus. Particularly it looks like X. vetus to me, but I thought that audax was the only species I should see in this area.

I am not a fish expert, so I thought I would post here and get some further opinions. The pictures I posted have a couple of encodes and sharks teeth in the mix as well for comparison.

post-17665-0-79258100-1428258864_thumb.jpg

post-17665-0-39811500-1428258877_thumb.jpg

post-17665-0-51124500-1428258890_thumb.jpg

post-17665-0-20234700-1428258940_thumb.jpg

Edited by TNCollector

I agree with Al Dente that both are fish.....Enchodus.sp Nice finds :)

Tony
The Brooks Are Like A Box Of Chocolates,,,, You Never Know What You'll Find.

I Told You I Don't Have Alzheimer's.....I Have Sometimers. Some Times I Remember

And Some Times I Forget.... I Mostly Forget.

Thanks for the replies, disappointed its not a xiphactinus. But maybe someday ill find one!

Thanks for the replies, disappointed its not a xiphactinus. But maybe someday ill find one!

Don't give up hope .....I found one last week.....Here is a picture...It was exactly 2 inches long.

post-2085-0-40430900-1428266556_thumb.jpg

post-2085-0-41427000-1428266591_thumb.jpg

Tony

I Told You I Don't Have Alzheimer's.....I Have Sometimers. Some Times I Remember

Don't give up hope .....I found one last week.....Here is a picture...It was exactly 2 inches long.

Thats an awesome specimen. Would love to see that in my sifter!