Carcharodontosaurus Repair And Restoration

magicalmrmerlin

I am an amateur collector with a couple of small but decent Carcharodontosaurus tooth specimens on my shelf. A 3-4inch high grade specimen would be a nice addition. On the other hand one that is not broken or been tampered with in some way with is out of my price range.

]With this in mind I recently decided to compromise and go for a repaired tooth. Now, many of us are aware of the cut and shut jobs that are constantly flying out of Morocco. Believe me I have seen quite a few horrendous composites over the past few weeks. In the end I did find one that is fairly obviously one tooth (!) and reasonably well presented .

The repair/ restoration on the tooth is actually a pretty good job and hard to see unless very close. When one does examine it you can see how the repair progresses in straight lines across the tooth and a small amount of filler -probably glue has been used to cover the imperfect areas. Does anyone know what the dealers use for these repairs/restorations? I presume its some sort of putty. The real initial concern was some red colouring that had been used to stain the surface, and presumably make the breaks less obvious. That sort of thing doesn't appeal to be so I applied a little acetone, which removed much of it. The tooth looks better for having done so in many ways.

One thing I have found hard to identify is whether or not any enamel has been moved/stuck on to cover the breaks. In the end I decided that the tooth looks good enough regardless whether it has or not. My feeling is a small amount of enamel has been glued on from the broken areas whereas largerareas have obviously not been tampered with so I am fairly satisfied. The outer serrations are well formed and uniform all around the tooth including the tip, so I doubt that any of the outer edges have been tampered with. I am not a massive expert on this but I have done my best using a magnifier.