oilshale

In “Steinkern.de” - the German speaking equivalent of TFF - Eckhard Petersen wrote an article about his high end DIY power air blaster. At that time, I only had a rather unreliable old dental sandblaster from Micron and a small Paasche Air Eraser, both not really suited to prep fossils on a larger scale.
So I decided it’s time to build a new and better air blaster.

As you can imagine, building an air blaster is not an easy task – you will need basic knowledge how to run a lathe (or a good friend who knows how to).
By profession, I am a chemist, and not a lathe operator. But one of my other hobbies is scale model making, I own a small mini-lathe and I am not born with two left hands.

Eckhard was so kind to give me his ok to publish his drawings (actually, these excellent drawings were made by another Steinkern colleague, by Steffl).

It’s not my invention and my design – the credit has to go to Eckhard and Steffl!

So here you go.

This is Eckhard’s original design:

post-2081-0-16346800-1442316555_thumb.jpg

Overall construction costs can be less than 200 US $ if you already have a sufficiently powerful compressor at hand (air consumption will be around 120 l/min, depending on nozzle size), search the internet and from time to time sift through local junkyards….

The most expensive part is the sandblasting-nozzle.
In the beginning, I used blasting nozzles from Renfert – you can get them in different sizes from 0.4mm up to 2.0mm. Good quality and quite durable, but unfortunately also quite expensive (around 80US $). Now, I build my own blasting nozzles – that’s not particularly difficult. All you need is a tungsten carbide tube (you will need them for the construction of this sand blaster anyway) and a brass rod. I will describe the construction of a blasting nozzle in a later post.

post-2081-0-65106100-1442316884_thumb.jpg

post-2081-0-07340500-1442316934_thumb.jpg
Renfert handpiece