Sign in to follow this  
barefootgunsmith

Lubbock, Tx Area?

barefootgunsmith

I may be taking a short contract job in Lubbock, is there any interesting fossil sites in that part of the state? I've never been there, so I have no knowledge of the area at all. I'd appreciate any help.

Fruitbat

The area around Lubbock has a veritable BONANZA of Miocene/Pliocene sites...as well as scattered Pleistocene. The biggest problem you'll encounter is that almost all of the land is privately owned and folks sometimes have a tendency to get a little upset if they find you wandering around behind their barbed wire. From Lubbock you're within driving range of some of the 'classic' sites like Clarendon, TX (that the late Miocene Clarendonian faunal stage is named after) and the Coffee Ranch site, a classic Hemphillian locale. Almost any road cut in the area north of Clarendon will have the potential to yield fossils. Look specifically for a golden-colored sand layer in the exposures. You can find fossils in other strata but the golden sand is the richest by far.

There are also LOTS of places where Permian 'red beds' are exposed and these often have the remains of early amphibians and other organisms. Since I haven't explored those areas extensively I can't really give you any tips on what to look for but perhaps there are other Forum members who can.

Good LUCK!!

-Joe

LanceH

Looking at a geo map the majority of Lubbock and Lynn counties are Quaternary-Pliocene age deposits. If you go a east into Garza county and southeast Crosby county the age is Triassic.

Near Post there's suposed to be some famous vertebrate sites:

Exposures of the Upper Triassic Dockum Group in northwestern Texas. The location of several of the vertebrate sites including Post Quarry, Kirkpatrick Quarry, Neyland Quarry, and Otis Chalk Quarry are indicated. From Chatterjee (1997).

post-11-1239458043_thumb.jpg

MikeD