What Slips Through Your Sieve (peace River)

Senlathiel

I fossil-hunt on the Peace River in south Florida regularly with several friends (Earthdog on this forum is one). Recently, we became curious as to what kinds of fossils are slipping through our sieves, but none of us had searched the small gravel necessary to find out. They typically pursue the larger, well-preserved fossils--I have no idea how they can find such beauties, but I am still learning. Usually, I can only find the smaller fossils. Last weekend I decided that if I was going to excel at finding the smaller fossils I had better see what kind of small fossils there really were. Instead of hunting with the 1/4th-inch mesh sieve we were used to, I also built and placed a smaller mesh to fit under it (made of bug screening). It is just large enough to let sand grains through, while letting me keep the smaller gravel (and hopefully containing some interesting fossils). I filled up two tuperware containers of the small gravel and took it home to slowly pick through over the week.

This thread is the result of that gravel. It was surprisingly a much bigger time sink than the larger gravel--I spent about 8 hours carefully picking through the equivalent of 2 full sieves-worth of small gravel (about 6 spade shovel-fulls). Definitely only due this if you have good eyesight.

Here is a snapshot of everything I found (all of which could probably fit in an 8oz container):

dsc04582b.jpg

As you might expect, I found alot of small shark teeth. Here are some examples of those:

scan0037.jpg

Beyond the shark teeth, I found quite a few interesting fossils. Many of them I knew because they were just smaller versions of fossils I catch in the 1/4th-inch mesh sieve. However, there were several mammal bones, rodent teeth, and the like. Several I couldn't identify. Unfortunately, they did not scan as well as the shark teeth.

scan0001c.jpg