My Adventures in Time

TNCollector

I decided that for here on out, I will be posting all of my trip reports here, just because it is easier and I like to be able to see all of my finds in one area.

Entry 1: Bangor Limestone

Mississippian (Chesterian series)

March 5, 2016

Today, me and Jim (JimB88) went to the Bangor Limestone in search of paleozoic shark's teeth (and whatever else!). We arrived mid morning and began the hike into the quarry. At our first stop, I looked at a rock that contained what I call the "flakey red layer", which consists of a thin layer (about 1") of red crinoidal matrix. I immediately spotted two tiny little teeth poking out of the crinoid's midst and extracted them with my hammer and chisel. These two teeth were so small that the only good pictures I could get are under the microscope. Please understand, I am not an expert at ID'ing these (Jim is), so these are simply my best guess IDs and many will probably updated.

Length:~4mm

Tooth 1: Helodus

post-17665-0-28612100-1457237062_thumb.jpg

After a while I came across this little guy, which I have no ID for, because I have no idea what it is... Eventually I will figure it out. The ripple pattern is what's throwing me off. It is about 1cm across.

Tooth 3: Update: Thanks to Dan, this is now identified as a Poecilodus, a new genera for this site!

post-17665-0-24568000-1457237603_thumb.jpg

As I was walking around looking for blastoids on the ground, I spotted this tooth just sitting on the ground on its little pedestal. It is not 100% complete, but it is still a nice tooth, with good color. It is about 3/4" across.

Tooth 4: Psephodus

post-17665-0-84157100-1457237792_thumb.jpg