There are only 3 Semi-Complete Rex Skeletons?

Isaac

Hi all!

I'm a writer and I'm working on a short story about Paleontology. I write about things that catch my interest and I think I saw on a cereal box somewhere there where only 3 (mostly complete) Rex skeletons. Only 3!

My question is how much do we usually find when it comes to Rex's at dig sites? Is it a bone here and there, or like a quarter or so of the animal. I find it very weird that we only have 3 after all these years.

Anyway, thought I'd ask some experts rather than make things up, haha ;)

Thanks!

-Isaac

I do not know the total number, but it is more than 3. I read a paper about a death trap that had 7 individuals in it.

Most dino finds are from disarticulated bones. Articulated skeletons are much rarer.

Tony

Darwin said: " Man sprang from monkeys."

Will Rogers said: " Some of them didn't spring far enough."

My Fossil collection - My Mineral collection

My favorite thread on TFF.

There's much more than that - dozens of specimens more than 50% complete (50% completeness is a lot in vertebrate paleontology). Jack Horner mentions in his public presentations that T. rex is a particularly well known dinosaur and something like 50 partial skeletons are known.

T-rex is largely known from the Hell Creek Formation, which was a highly turbid, riverine/estuarian environment - very similar to what the Mississippi River delta in Louisiana is like today. Because of this high energy environment, when an animal died, its skeleton was very rarely held intact, pieces would drift down rivers and bays and be deposited elsewhere. Further, scavenging animals would disperse bits and pieces of the dead T-rex.