Ammo Heaven!

RJB

I took two of my sons to South Dakota just last October. Ive never gone after the ammos too much, but being that I live in Montana now, SD didnt seem so far anymore. I was lucky enough to meet a really nice guy who new his ammos and had a few sites to hunt. Boy did we find some ammos!!! Actually it was my youngest son that did outstanding. I did purty good, but he found the most amazing stuff!!! We went to 4 different sites and it took us 3 days. We were gone from home for 7 days. We were all smiles all the way home from this trip. I have two more ammo trips already planned for this year too! I cant wait! One of the trips will be a river float trip, which will be super fun. I have never done that before!!! All these ammos are not prepped yet, but someday soon I will have some great stuff to show you guys. Here are some pics of some of the fossils. There are plenty more that I didnt get photos of. I just cant wait to start preppin!!! Enjoy

RB

post-171-1200517441_thumb.jpg

post-171-1200517551_thumb.jpg

post-171-1200517601_thumb.jpg

post-171-1200517657_thumb.jpg

post-171-1200517703_thumb.jpg

post-171-1200517771_thumb.jpg

• I found this Informative 1

Nice finds, and I especially love the one with the original shell on it. It is really beautiful.

Texas is huge ammonite territory, and I love collecting them.

Welcome to the forum!

What geologic period (and stage) OR geologic formation are those from?

I think the loosley coiled ones are technically scaphites.